#12

I’m out of sync with writing about my 52 documentaries challenge but I wanted make sure you know about this beautiful acid trip of a masterpiece called: “Moonage Daydream”. A film that after viewing made me write the following statement on facebook: “Do you know how blessed we are that most of us were alive at the same time as David Bowie?”

I remember being in my childhood friend’s home (Cheri Miller); and her older brother had 33 1/3 albums of Ziggy Stardust. I remember not knowing what to think of it, or him or whatever it was. I found the colors pretty but I was what 6 or 7 and just not ready for that level of artistry yet. I became a big fan during his 80s resurgence, even if everyone in his artistic circle thought those pop-music years were “beneath him”. The road however that “Modern Love” era Bowie took me on was wonderful though. I was a huge Tin Machine fan (wanted to date Tony Sales like crazy); and looked forward to ever release thereafter. Reviewed all the older material to find a treasure trove of gems from a true performance artist. Loved his acting. Loved his personality. Loved that he was whip smart, stylish and thought that his marriage to Iman just made the most beautiful union of humans.

If you want to just reside in a space and time with David Bowie – put this documentary on and just be there now. The world is crazy and his escapism right now is what I needed. Beautifully produced and edited, it’s a gorgeous 2 plus hours well spent.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑