Macbeth

Originally written March 15, 2008.

In just a few words…Macbeth by Teller & Posner is…BLOODY good.  Jim and I finally got to see the Teller/Posner conceived, directed and staged production of Shakespeare’s Macbeth.  Going into this, we knew it was a limited run, fairly exclusive to get tickets to, heralded as the bloodiest Macbeth possibly ever, complete with illusions designed by the master magician Teller.  Well…my good people…it was a revelation.

First of all, Jim and I were most impressed with the theatre at the Folger Shakespeare Library.  It was so designed to feel like you were in the Globe Theater itself.  It was so intimate that you felt immersed in the story of power-lust, weird-sisters, impatience, blood-letting, madness and karmic retribution.  Ah…Teller and Aaron Posner got it just right.  The staging, set design, sound design, illusions, and casting were done with a meticulous precision that I admired.  Teller has said in interviews that he imagined staging this Shakespeare masterpiece since he was 12 years old…what time to imagine.  How lucky to have the backing to produce what you dream.

Now for a non-linear approach to why I loved this production.  Let me just say that the use of live sound design was stunning.  Odd and otherworldly…and surprising.  The lighting and set design was not overpowering but honest and well thought out.  The illusions were beautifully created to make you feel the madness unfolding.  I always thought that the descent into mental chaos by Macbeth and his Lady was obvious in words, but to actually be able to SEE the mental breakdown of these two characters was intense and spectacular.  The acting was masterful, and allowed you to feel the horror of those witness to the downfall of the kingdom, and the decreasing sense of reality plaguing the lead and his significant other.  The three sisters are mesmerizing and grotesque.  There is a lot of blood too…and it suits this production well.  To be honest, I’m not going to go into a ton of detail because I don’t want to spoil this for anyone willing to take the drive to see it…but I must say…BRAVO.

I can only hope, that when the run is over – that Teller would consider filming this for anyone unable to journey to see it and frankly, I don’t want to “displace the mirth” any further by letting too much out. 


I am happy to report that I have purchased the filmed copy of this production and look forward to hosting a movie matinee viewing at my new home on it’s 15th anniversary in 2023.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑